Contact Us

The Lone Star UAS Center of Excellence & Innovation (LSUASC) at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi was established by the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents on Oct. 31, 2013, as a research center in partnership with the Texas A&M University Engineering Experiment Station (TEES).

LSUASC is a system of aviation and technological expertise authorized by the Federal Aviation Administration to create an environment for research, development, testing and evaluation of unmanned aircraft systems. The center represents a statewide team of research institutions, private-sector service providers, non-profit corporations and state agencies that bid successfully for an FAA UAS test site, which was awarded Dec. 30, 2013.

LSUASC serves a wide variety of customers from state and federal agencies to private-sector original equipment manufacturers. In order to expedite inquiries about LSUASC services and capacities, please accept the following guidance.

  • Potential customers and other interested parties seeking general information about the center or the test site should contact the Office of the Executive Director as listed below. This includes the following:
    • Members of the general public
    • Organizations seeking presentations
    • Groups wishing to visit the center.

LSUASC accommodates visits whenever practicable, but priority will be given to groups with identifiable business, research or educational interests in LSUASC. Scheduling will be determined by LSUASC operational considerations.

  • Public- and private-sector research investigators should make initial contact with the LSUASC Office of Research Development. This includes research personnel of public and private universities, state and federal government agencies and companies requiring LSUASC engineering services and research capacities leading to utilization of the LSUASC Test Site and/or other facilities and capacities among LSUASC team members.
  • News media inquiries should go directly to the Marketing and Communications department of Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi.
  • Public- and private-sector range users should make initial contact with the LSUASC Office of Business Development. A range user is an agency, company, or individual with a need to access LSUASC services leading to utilization of the LSUASC Test Site.
Meet our team
Michael Sanders

Michael Sanders

Acting Executive Director

michael.sanders@tamucc.edu
361.825.2577
Tye Payne

Tye Payne

Program Director of Operations

tye.payne@tamucc.edu
361.825.2577
Jason Blevins

Jason Blevins

Research Engineer

jason.blevins@tamucc.edu
361.825.3014
Jason D. Casey

Jason D. Casey

Project Controller and LSI Lead

jason.casey@tamucc.edu
361.825.4104
Robert Mead

Robert Mead

Director of Program Integration

robert.mead@tamucc.edu
 
Mike Menard

Mike Menard

Chief Pilot

michael.menard@tamucc.edu
361.825.4112
Nicholas Allen

Nicholas Allen

Aviation Safety Officer

Nicholas.Allen@tamucc.edu
361.825.4113
Eric T. Bird

Eric T. Bird

Aviation Systems Engineer

Eric.Bird@tamucc.edu
361.825.4120
Luis Hernandez

Luis Hernandez

Engineer II

luis.hernandez3@tamucc.edu
361.825.3583
Erick J. Gomez

Erick J. Gomez

UAS Pilot

erick.gomez@tamucc.edu
361.825.2577
Walter Mills

Walter Mills

UAS Technician

walter.millsmarin@tamucc.edu
 
Maria Martinez

Maria Martinez

Administrative Associate V

maria.martinez@tamucc.edu
361.825.2577
Valerie Jimenez

Valerie Jimenez

Program Assistant

valerie.jimenez@tamucc.edu
361.825.3014